+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: found a new site selling flight jackets...that did not seem to be overly expensive

  1. #1
    New In Town
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    9

    found a new site selling flight jackets...that did not seem to be overly expensive

    Hello guys. I came across a site selling flight jackets that don't seem overly expensive. I am not talking about one particular jacket. Just wanted some input from you gents.
    Thanks
    Hilbilylost

  2. #2
    Practically Family
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Not where I thought I was going, but probably where I need to be.
    Posts
    863
    Quote Originally Posted by hillbillylost View Post
    Hello guys. I came across a site selling flight jackets that don't seem overly expensive. I am not talking about one particular jacket. Just wanted some input from you gents.
    Thanks
    Hilbilylost
    What is the site? Have a link?

    (My gut reaction is...you get what you pay for. )

  3. #3
    Practically Family
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Not too far from Spokane, WA
    Posts
    909
    Maybe hillbillylost lost the site?

    Welcome to the Lounge my friend. Pardon my levity, couldn't resist!

    Jeff is right.....good quality leather jackets are not cheap!

    Regards,
    coffee
    Last edited by too much coffee; 10-09-2011 at 01:16 PM.

  4. #4
    I'll Lock Up ButteMT61's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    6,057
    Agreed. By I did get one nice A2 from USWings in antique cowhide for under $200 on sale. Wore it out this morning. love it, even though it's not "accurate".
    Mostly though. Cheap means cheap. Better to buy a used Aero, Eastman, LW, Good Wear, etc on eBay. My two centavos.

  5. #5
    New In Town
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    9
    Oops thought I had sent a link...http://www.proviation.com/

  6. #6
    Practically Family
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Not where I thought I was going, but probably where I need to be.
    Posts
    863
    I've learned a couple of things over the years.
    If it looks to good to be true, it is.
    You can make anything look "good" in a picture.
    There is nothing that will end up costing you so much as trying to go "cheap". You will still crave the quality item, and end up getting it in the end. Interestingly, if you already own the "quality item", buying an item not quite of the same quality isn't as disappointing...as you can use it/wear it when without worry.

    To answer your question, nope. Never heard of this retailer/brand. And unless one of the very experienced and knowledgeable folks here have personal experience with them and "clears them", I'd look elsewhere.

  7. #7
    I'll Lock Up HoosierDaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Indiana Outback
    Posts
    6,189
    They look like 'fashion' jackets to me..of not very good quality..or patterns.
    HD

  8. #8
    I'll Lock Up scottyrocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    4,699
    I took a look at one of the jackets. It said they have a 'fairly close fit' and to order a size up. It has been my experience that fairly close fit means made in places such as Pakistan or China. Take that for what it's worth, though, because I don't know where this particular jacket has been made. Also, I didn't see this caveat mentioned on some of the other jackets on the site.
    'There is a fine line between art and fondling.'
    - J.H.P.

  9. #9
    Call Me a Cab Doctor Strange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Westchester, NY
    Posts
    2,672
    Some of the leathers there (A-2, G-1) are US Authentic jackets. Or at least, they are using the same pictures that appear on the US A site - though some of the descriptions sound a bit off (the A-2 comes standard in black goatskin and has an exterior chest pocket?!?)

  10. #10
    One of the Regulars
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Salida
    Posts
    156
    Almost all jackets on that site are going to be from China.

    Unless you buy from an apparel company that makes its own jackets, expect them to be imported.

    You do get what you pay for and price is not the only thing to look at in considering a clothing purchase.

    Hope this helps.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts