Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

1920's (and earlier) clothing/textile resources?

pdxvintagette

A-List Customer
Hello ladies,

Today I brought my van back from a house clean out/sale half filled with delicate 1920's and 30's gowns, some Edwardian pieces and fragile Victorian wear.

I was over the moon. I've never touched silk as soft as the flapper wedding dress.

Problem. (Not a bad one to have, I suppose, though...) The mid 30's is far back as my knowledge of fabrics, sewing techniques and terminology goes, and these special things are going to have to be sold. Well, MOST of them.

I would prefer not to sound like a complete moron when I go to list them. I hate it when sellers say "I'm not an expert, so just go by the pictures." I'm willing to do the research, but am having a hard time finding organized, definitive sites for this topic. I want to be able to identify and describe the type of lace, style of workmanship, and for the earlier pieces, the appropriate name and circumstance for wearing the piece.

There's BEAUTIFUL things in here. Some can be worn, others display only, still others are salvage. But oh! I didn't know there were still hidden pockets like this waiting to be found.

Going back tomorrow. We did the basement and two bedrooms today. (I don't want to tell you what had to be thrown away. :( ) Tomorrow is the attic. Hope I can afford it!

In the meanwhile, could any of you lovely ladies suggest resources for this era of item? I will dive right in! Thanks so much,

Julie

Miss 1929

My Mail is Forwarded Here
You're hurting me!

This sounds like so much fun, just to be the one who sees it all first!

I volunteer to give you any info I can if you would like to either post or send pics. I am too poor to buy anything right now, so I can live vicariously through your estate sale!