Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

George Hurrell 40s style photography

Atomic Age

Practically Family
I just discovered this place and WOW, great idea!

I'm a photographer and one of my heroes is George Hurrell. Hurrell is one of the most famous Hollywood portrait photographers from the Golden Age. I recently tried doing some portraits in that style and thought folks here might appreciate them and give their opinions.

2184274773_040a19d1bf_o.jpg

2184274679_4e3bb638b4_o.jpg

Hope I posted these in the right place.

Thanks
Doug

Atterbury Dodd

One Too Many
Hello Doug,

Interesting photos, that first one has an element of mystery to it. What kind of camera did you use?

Welcome to the Lounge!

Atterbury

Atomic Age

Practically Family
Atterbury,

Thanks for the welcome.

These were shot with a Canon Rebel XTI digital SLR, and a fixed focal length 50mm lens. They were actually shot in color, and I used a Photoshop plugin called Virtual Photographer to render it in black and white and add just a bit of film grain. I also added a bit of a soft focus filter in Photoshop.

Doug

Miss 1929

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Beautiful work!

If she had a hairdo, it would be very convincing!

i was lucky enough to have my portrait done by Mark Viera in 1989 - Mark owned the cameras, lenses and lights from Hurrell's MGM portrait studio (until someone stole them). He also put out a beautiful book of Hurrell's work.

It was quite a thrill to know that the same camera captured some of the greatest stars!

And the pictures came out swell. I will scan and post one.

I especially like the lighting on the second one, on her hands...

Atomic Age

Practically Family
Thank you for your comments. Thats amazing that he had Hurrell's actual equipment. I'd love to see your portraits.