Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hair Tonic

Prairie Shade

A-List Customer
WOW - This WAS Down My Alley

I used to be an expert on this subject!!!!! Then JFK was elected and I had to have the air dried, fly away look!!! Lets see, I used to love H.A. (Hair Arranger-- for the younger generation), then there was Brylcreem (still around I think), Vaseline Hair Tonic (baby oil-scented), Frank Giffords favorite Vitalis (still around big time) I even have a bottle in my medicine cabinet. Vitalis is all I use now, and only occasionally. I have short hair and just use it to make it lay down. Once in a while my wifes pomade. I'm not into the Dapper Dan look, those are days I dont care to re-live. Your comb left a grease spot on the back pocket of your Levis that you changed once a week. Maybe!!! EVERYBODY ELSE - - - COME ON, How about some I missed!!

Chad Sanborn

A-List Customer
I have seen many hair tonics on the shelves of my local Wal-Mart. But the only one I have used is Brylcreem. Though it seems to be thincker than the liquidy tonics. I like Brylcreem, but if I wear it, I can't wear my hat. It will leave a ring in the band.

Chad

Bebop

Practically Family
I have really short hair and sometimes use Bayrum from Orvis. I like the way it smells and it leaves my hats smelling just as nice as my head (I guess my head smells nice. I have a rough time getting my nose up there) :rolleyes: . It dries quickly and leaves no stains in my hats. I use it mainly for the smell. I don't think it does anything BUT smell.

FedoraGent

One Too Many
I indeed use Hair Tonic

I searched far and wide for a hair tonic that my old man used to use. I am now using it once again after finding a regular place to buy it. I'm using Vitalis. I was going to use Berylcreme and then I remembered how much I liked using the Vitalis.