Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hat Psychology

Lorne

One of the Regulars
Back when I was a street cop, I noticed that gang members had the annoying habit of wearing the exact same clothing. As time went by the reasons for the uniformity of uniform became obvious.

A gang member runs down the street into a crowd of similarly dressed cretins, how are you going to identify your suspect? Or, someone says they were robbed by a guy in a blue track suit, and its blue track suits as far as the eye can see, what are you going to do?

This lead me to a subject I studied in graduate school, crowds and the social contract.

When we stand in a crowd we are less likely to act because, as a member of a crowd, no one bears any specific responsibility to act. We also know that mobs are more violent than the individuals within them because the anonymity that comes with being a member of a crowd allows the members to act anonymously.

That brings me to the subject of Fedoras (wondering when I was going to get here?).

Since I’ve started wearing a hat, I’ve noticed that people ask me for directions more frequently. And I interact with people (in positive way) more often then I did.

I believe, and I don’t know how to turn this into a testable hypothesis, it’s because of the hat.

Wearing my hat, I know I am not a member of the crowd and I can not blend in. I imagine I feel a responsibility that comes with that knowledge so I give directions. I also believe that since people can identify me, “that guy with the hat”, and I am not an anonymous member of the crowd, they feel more comfortable talking to me.

Just a Thought.

babygirl...

One of the Regulars
Great thought, Lorne! I would go to the guy in the hat also. :)