Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Higher rise jeans for men: Yay or nay?

Kiko123

New in Town
Hello everyone! I've noticed that in the 1940s guys wore higher waist jeans and it got me thinking. I'm 6' but my legs are relatively short and I have a long torso. Do you think I am right in wanting to ditch the low-waist look that is so popular? Will it look funny (like I am wearing mommy jeans lol) on a guy? What is your opinion on that? I'd also lie to ask who and when wore jeans in the 40s, I think they were worn mainly by the country folk? The good thing nowadays is that jeans don't look out of place in an urban environment (as a college student I feel too uncomfortable yet with wearing slacks).

I'm fed up with the modern fashion in jeans where your legs look even shorter. Especially since I have very skinny ones and I think the wider-legged 40s would made them look not as stick-thin. I guess the only way is to order repros from the Internet as I haven't seen wider/high waist jeans for guys since about 2003.

emigran

Practically Family
I only wear LEE that sit at the waist... I'm 68 and can't fathom wearing the new style... Lee really fit me well... thighs and butt too...
I recently found a pair of really old high-waist Lee's from whenever and put them on... not bad either...

Rudie

Call Me a Cab

Edward

Bartender