Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Living the Golden Age (all over again)

Big Dave

New in Town
Greetings,

My name is Dave Fitzgerald. I've been a nursing home administrator in Hawaii for the past 10 years and have a passion for caring for people with Alzheimer's disease (AD).

In several months I will be opening an Alzheimer's unit that I hope will be on par with some of the best in the nation. One thing that I've really enjoyed is trying to bring the past alive in the future facility.

I have not been an antique buff, but this project has led me all over the world (on the net) to find interesting working antiques for the residents to enjoy.

Most people with AD retain their oldest memories and the key is to tap into this memory. In my facility the residents will be in the middle stages of the disease so they will likely have a strong handle on their memories from childhood to possibly early adulthood. From a practical standpoint I'm targeting the 1920's to early 1940's.

Some of the authentic things I've collected or plan on introducing are:
- Wall clocks (a large Gilbert, and a Japanese school clock)
- A desk that has a number of working items (typewriter, candlestick phone, stapler, pencil sharpener)
- Singer Sewing machine with treadle
- For the men I have a set of turn of the century golf clubs from England. I'd like to do more than display them in a case. I'm just not sure how to balance the safety issue. I'm also going to get some softball gloves from the 1930's. I thought the men might enjoy tossing some kind of safe ball around. Maybe it won't work due to loss of motor skills...I'll just have to see.
- I plan to get a nice table top old radio of some sort.

Here's a great link to the Library of Congress photos from the depression through WWII.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/fsaquery.html