Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Need help finding a hat

JMG32

New in Town
So, I'm rather new to the fedora thing. Have previously worn ivy-style caps but my dad wore fedora-style hats when I was a kid and I want to keep it going for my kids. Anyway, I'm looking for something pretty particular and haven't had any luck finding just the right thing. I'm looking for something pretty close to the hat Steve Martin wore in "Planes, Trains and Automobiles. " Seen in the picture here:

TrainsPlanesFinal.jpg

I've found a lot of grey fedoras but they usually have more stiff-looking brims or ones that curl up a bit around the edges. I like the exact syle of the one here. Grant it, this was from the 80s, but it seems like a pretty timeless style.

Any suggestions?

JMG32

New in Town
That's pretty close, thanks. Still not quite what I'm looking for though.

Seems like this kind of hat doesn't exist anywhere...I've looked high and low.

moontheloon

I'll Lock Up
That's pretty close, thanks. Still not quite what I'm looking for though.

Seems like this kind of hat doesn't exist anywhere...I've looked high and low.

it is pretty much the exact hat with a different crease

the hat you are looking for exists everywhere

Last edited:

JMG32

New in Town
I do appreciate the find. It could work. I was hoping for a bit darker of a gray closer to the one in the movie, but this might work.

Now, can you find one a bit cheaper? haha

moontheloon

I'll Lock Up
I do appreciate the find. It could work. I was hoping for a bit darker of a gray closer to the one in the movie, but this might work.

Now, can you find one a bit cheaper? haha

sure... but remember with hats you get what you pay for

http://www.villagehatshop.com/product/all-fedoras/451139-3223/pinch-crown-crushable-fedora-hat.html