Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

NEW A-2 PURCHASE! ANY AND ALL OPINIONS/ADVICE WELCOME

RHODEO

New in Town
Hi all, and salutations to everyone.

I’m a newbie to this forum, and if I may, would like to draw on your experience, opinions, views, to help me gain some additional insight and make up my mind as to which A-2 to purchase.

It will be my 1st and only A-2 purchase for a very, very long time. (I’m sure that’s like, “ …Famous last words….” ) I’m 5’11” and 172 lbs. And take a 42L normal suit jacket.

My criteria in order of importance are as follows:

- Collar-stand construction
- Great Horse Hide quality, and colour.
- True Historical fit (Pattern / Cut), must also sit nicely on shoulders and not hang off too much, and epaullettes musnt "ride up"

- Most Durable construction (incl knits and all other components), I intend to WEAR this jacket, and would like it to be a faithful companion for some time to come yet.

- Correct stitching detail
- Good/Fair Historical accuracy

I like the following jackets:

- RMNZ – Roughwear 1943 Pattern , Seal Brown HH)

- Aero 38-1711-P Type A-2 Lost contract (Seal Brown HH) OR Aero 40-3785-P Type A-2

- Lost worlds – Dubow Collar Stand (Seal Brown HH) (But not sure what to make of the owners attitude)

- ELC - Roughwear (Seal Brown HH)

Its really between the RMNZ and AERO. The fact that I heard so many complaints about the ELC’s knits put me off. (As well as their possible pattern discrepancies)

I like the AERO 38--1711-P , but don’t know whether they offer this particular model with contrasting (rust coloured) knits ( I kinda like those, but don’t know how I’d will feel about them in a while) What is the difference between “dark berry” and “Rust” coloured knits?