Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

New to this - Looking for advice

Illusive_man

New in Town
Alright, so I'm a 25 year old tech CEO. I'm an entrepreneur, I know how stuff works, I know which people know how stuff work, and I can make that into a machine that generates money somehow.

I'm not from a rich family, I didn't have anyone to teach me about etiquette, style, fine clothes, presenting yourself in a dignified way. But now I got where I am, and I want (and have) to do these things. So I've been doing some research into suits; And there are a few things that aren't very clear to me.

1) Brands / tailor made. So there are premium brands (Armani, Cornelliani) - but there's also completely custom made suits. What's the difference here?

2) So there are a lot of different materials. As far as I know there's wool, linnen, cotton, silk, cashmere and mohair - that's a lot to take in. What should I know about these things? I get warm very easily, so I am essentially looking for something that keeps me as cool as possible. I like it being a bit glossy, but not the cheap polyester type.

What are the essentials I should know? And please, don't tell me to just look up a faq/guide. The best way I learn is through discourse and communication. For example, right now I'm thinking of looking for a fabric that's a blend of cashmere, silk and linnen; Cashmere/silk so it doesn't crinkle, and linnen so it keeps me as cool as possible. Is that a good idea?

Sincerely,
Illusive

Mathematicus

A-List Customer
I think there are better people here to give you a more organic answer.