Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Question about Barbour waxed cotton jackets

Racecar

New in Town
I am considering purchasing a Barbour Beaufort waxed cotton jacket. Someone cautioned me that if I had leather seats in my vehicle, the wax may come off and stain or discolor the leather seats. I do have light gray colored, leather seats in my vehicle. Has anyone had anything like this happen to leather seats?

I asked the person that cautioned me about this if he had any bad experiences like this. This person was actually a Barbour salesperson at Orvis. He said that he had not, but thought it could be a possibility. I have no experience to draw on from any type of waxed cotton outer wear, but it did seem reasonable that some of the wax and oil could rub off.

I still covet a Barbour jacket, but the thought of staining my leather car seats is somewhat disheartening. I figure I could always take the jacket off while in the car, but this idea is not very appealing. Hopefully, it will turn out to be a non-issue.

Daisy Buchanan

My Mail is Forwarded Here
First of all, I love my Barbour waxed cotton jacket. It is so great, especially today with wind driven rain and cold. I know my roommate Hemingway Jones has two of them. We are both big fans of the entire Barbour line.
I have leather seats in my car and have never had the experience you are talking about. If you heard this from one person, that person must have had a very rare, faulty jacket. Faults in the Barbour line are unheard of.
On a side note. If you are really interested in the coat I would check out www.coatsandhats.com