Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Uses for Old Stockings and Hosiery

Paisley

I'll Lock Up
Tie climbing roses to their supports.
Strap clear plastic domes onto their seed trays when winter sowing.
Put onions inside them and hang in the basement or cellar for storage.
Emergency fan belt.

Other ideas?

Paisley

I'll Lock Up
When I was a photographer, we had a similar use for panty hose: a piece of stretched hose could be used as a filter to soften the lines on a print. We'd sometimes do that on photos of officers with bad complexions (though we weren't supposed to). I'd forgotten about that.

Snookie

Practically Family
Stuffing them and making rag dolls.

Stuffing them for your hair rolls.

Using them as stuffing for your duct tape dress form.

Snookie

Practically Family
Paisley said:
When I was a photographer, we had a similar use for panty hose: a piece of stretched hose could be used as a filter to soften the lines on a print. We'd sometimes do that on photos of officers with bad complexions (though we weren't supposed to). I'd forgotten about that.

A friend of mine who knows stuff about moviemaking said they'd do the same thing to soften the closeups of the women. Just stretched it across the lens, and *presto! Instant Glamour.

Joie DeVive

One Too Many
Here's one from my Girl Scout days; camping soap holder.

Put a bar of soap into the toe, tie the other end to the spigot.
Keeps the soap near the faucet and clean so that 20 girls can wash up for meals...

KittyT

I'll Lock Up
you can cut a wide cross section from the thigh to use as a headband (great for holding hair back when washing your face or doing makeup), though this only works for stretchy stockings. also, you can cut skinny cross sections to use as hair elastics that won't cause breakage.

Adelaidey

One of the Regulars