Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Vintage related self-businesses

Amie

One of the Regulars
Hi ladies. I've been sewing for about 2 1/2 years, taking fashion design courses part-time and all. I think I'm pretty decent at it and would like to take a stab at selling some of my creations and hopefully maybe this could lead to some sort of self-business at least on a very small scale. My skills are not advanced right now but I can make fairly nice blouses and dresses off of commercial patterns, mostly vintage of course. Now I was wondering what is the copyright law on that? Are you allowed to sell garments made from a commercial pattern? Also, I know a lot of you ladies sell on easy so if anyone had some insight or tips on selling, that would be great help.

MarieAnne

Practically Family
Hi Amie, sounds very exciting! I 'believe' you may sell the garments you make from sewing patterns as long as you don't try to take credit for the pattern/design. I read a really good article on sewing patterns and copyrights a few years ago but I can't find it now. I believe the copyright laws apply to the images on the pattern envelope and the pattern itself. I hope this is useful!

Flat Foot Floey

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I don't think copy right applies to pattern if you sell single hand made pieces. For a factory produced run of 5000 blouses maybe...
I assume you would use vintage pattern? It would something else to sell exact copies of stop staring dresses or something like this.

Start with a etsy shop ... and a blog (wordpress, blogger, tumblr) to spread the word about your clothes. I think it sounds like a great project.

Good luck!

PS: Sorry for interfering in the "Powder Room" but my girlfriend is a seamstress too.:)

Last edited:

LizzieMaine

Bartender