Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

14KT Gold Filled Jewelry / Where to Buy online ?

Sonero

Practically Family
I am not sure if there is a thread dedicated to this but :

Where do you recommend looking for authentic / stamped 14K/ GF jewelry online ?
I am new to this but apparently true gold filled is bonded to another metal and has a minimum of 5% real gold and is much more durable and tarnish resistant. It isn't cheap.

Another method I was looking into is PVD plating which is basically gold paint on top of 316 stainless steel correct ?

Many people on Etsy claim their items are gold filled but it is actually plated.

By the way I have no problem paying for real 14K but wearing a $6K necklace everyday in public is asking for trouble. If someone snatched a $300 chain off my neck that is a different story.

Who carries high quality gold filled jewelry online ?

Last edited:

Aerielle Max

One of the Regulars
This is interesting, I never have thought one would ask this. I am hoping the more experienced members can answer this.

Flanderian

Practically Family
Sorry to be of no assistance, but your question prompted me to revisit the question of exactly what constitutes an item being gold filled. An interest of mine, and something in the past that I would occasionally add are antique/estate/vintage cufflinks. Since I shall not be purchasing more, my interest has long been via Internet. E-bay is a site I've long browsed for them, and while its selection has markedly gone down hill since I first looked many years ago, many items are described as gold-filled. My skepticism regarding the accuracy of such descriptions echoes yours, not least because of general problems with the validity of E-bay's descriptions.