Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

A Tale of Two Hats

I've been meaning to post this for a while, as most of this story occurred a few months ago. I didn't know what thread to put this in, so I started a new.

As most of you know, I'm still a newbie to this hat thing, especially compared to our more long-time, esteemed FL Members. But I'm an enthusiastic learner and have, as I refer to it, "drank from the firehose" of hat knowledge and gotten myself spun up fairly quickly. My collection has grown commensurately, both vintage and modern. As an engineer by training, one of the things that has made this journey so interesting is learning about the felting process, hat construction, materials - the whole gamut. I'd love to get into a place like the Garland factory to explore, as process engineering is one of the things I've tackled over the years.

Early on, I decided that I wanted to "work on" a hat, and began fishing in The Bay to find a candidate. Back in March, I found an Adam Executive Pacesetter that you've likely seen on my head a few times. Posted first are the eBay photos. Before:

Adam Executive 1.JPG Adam Executive 3.jpg Adam Executive 4.jpg Adam Executive 7.jpg Adam Executive 9.jpg

As can be seen from the pics, it was pretty beat, and the ad even sold it as a "beater." It was stained, the ribbons were also stained, the sweat was completely out of it, some moth damage, the whole nine yards. But it was enough for me to play with.

Last edited: