Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

A Young Girls Civil War Diary

Puyallup Lee

New in Town
Hi,

To start with, i am a guy. For a little background I have been tracing my family history for about 50 years, since I was 16. Many years ago I was visiting with my sister-in-law's family and the subject turned to Genealogy. Jim, her husband, said he had a copy of an old diary one of his relatives wrote during the Civil War and wanted to know if I would like to copy it. Of course I said yes. I have since re-typed the whole diary and now it is in digital format and I can share it with everyone.

I had it up on a web site for a few years, but I changed hosts and it never did get put back up.

If you would like to really know what life was like for the girls and women during that War, I will post it for you in sections. There are 70 different pages. I will post page one so you can see if it is something you would like to read.

This is a manuscript of Lavina Kelley Delzell, a young bride in 1859 living in Missouri. Her husband went to fight for the South in the Civil War. The manuscript was madeup from her diary in 1932 by one of Lavina and John's children. There are 16 sections to the manuscript.

Section I, page 1/3

WHEN NORTH WAS WEDDED TO SOUTH

I am sure that my parents were not a bit superstitious about thirteen, or perhaps they had never heard of such nonsense. For on the 13th day of Oct. 1859, they stood in the presence of their