Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Aero/Thurston: How customizable is customizable?

Dennis M

New in Town
Good evening Lounge Lizards,

Newbie here, about to be graced with a 1930's half belt fitting jacket. In reference to the thread title, how far can I go/will Aero/Thurston allow when it comes to customizing a jacket? For example (and these are just whimsical ideas pulled out of thin air, by no means realistic...or are they?), a highwayman back on a half belt cut? A maxwell collar on a highwayman? A half belt without the yoke or without the belt panel?

Or should I just concentrate on having a fine fitting and tailored jacket first? :p

Dennis M

New in Town
Btw I do realise that customising a particular model out of existance begs the question...why not just get the model with the features I want customised already on it?... I just want to find out where the customization limits are.

Carlos840

I'll Lock Up
I have not dealt with Thurston, but from experience with Aero all i can say is "it depends"
Some things they do, some they don't, you can usually swap back yokes/gussets, collars and cuffs, and sometimes pocket layout.
If they feel that your idea isn't a good one, they will say no. If they feel your idea works they will most likely say yes.
It's really a case by case thing.
I ordered a bootlegger with a double point back yoke, a D pocket and no chest pocket and they said yes, but i have also heard of them saying no to other people for things that sounded like similar ideas.

Fit is more important than anything else, so if it was my first jacket with them i would probably keep it simple...

Edward

Bartender