Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

"Bash." Not a hatter's term?

scotrace

Head Bartender
Staff member
Where does "bash" come from anyway? COW?

I think "shape" or "block" or "crease" are much better and more authentic terms. "Bash" seems to be a phenomenon of this and COW boards. Like "Fed" for fedora (shudder), "Borso" for Borsalino, etc.

Does "bash" show up in old Hat Life issues? Or anywhere else? Brad Bowers - what say you?

EricH

One of the Regulars
Not that I'm an expert, but seeing as hats are formed on blocks, the block or blocking of a hat would seem the natural form of slang. After all, aren't hats cleaned and blocked?

Perhaps bash is easier to say when you're smashed at the bar? Bartender another round please.:cheers1:

Eric
(Trying to be a blockhead in my own right)

Duck

Practically Family
Well, I had never heard the term "bash" for the shaping of a hat before I came to this site. [huh] I have always heard the shape of the crown as the "crease".
But it does make some sense, because to crease the crown, you have to kind of bash the top in :D :D

Brad Bowers

I'll Lock Up
I accept the Australia/COW theory, as it's not a term I've come across in my research.

One term that I have run across is the verb, "styled," as in "The clerk styled the hat for the customer." This is certainly the term used in Cavanagh's Park Avenue store.

Brad

majormoore

Vendor
I call it a crease, seems most western hatters use the term "crease"

Mike Moore, aka Major Moore

deanglen

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Discovered the term here. Wondered about it's etymology. Felt, so to speak, I'd be mocked and scorned if I asked about it. Thanks, Scott. You did it for me.

dean

scotrace

Head Bartender
Staff member