Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Best felt fedora?

Graywolf

New in Town
Forgive me if this has been asked before but I a new kid in town. Who makes the best felt fedora? I am looking for a good long lasting crushable felt at a reasonable price. I am tired of having to buy a new felt hat every year or so. I need some direction here please. I am new to the Boston area; does anyone know of hat stores in the area?

johnnycanuck

My Mail is Forwarded Here
What you seem to be asking is for the back bone to most collections. The daily use hat that they are not afraid to get wet, dirty, crushed, snowed on or dunked in a lake. Most here will tell you their Akubra Federation (or deluxe) fits the bill.
www.hatsdirect.com

hope that helps.

Johnny

jpdesign

Vendor
The killer in your question is the word Crushable. Good fedoras are not usually crushable. If you want something that is really long lasting you need to buy a fedora made of beaver felt. from both Art Fawcett and myself these run approx. $300.

Jimmy

tandmark

One of the Regulars
Graywolf said:
Forgive me if this has been asked before but I a new kid in town. Who makes the best felt fedora? I am looking for a good long lasting crushable felt at a reasonable price. I am tired of having to buy a new felt hat every year or so. I need some direction here please.

Hi, and welcome to the Fedora Lounge!

Well, it looks like you've got two different questions wrapped up in one here.

If the question is what brand of factory-made felt hat is the best value, you'll find that FedLoungers tend to favor three: Akubra, Borsalino, and Stetson.

The Borsalino and Stetson fans often add that the vintage ones (say, pre-1965 or so) were much better than the ones made today. That's not such an easy option for you, though, if your hat size is larger than about 7 1/4.