Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Black shoe polish on Cordovan shoes?

Historyteach24

Call Me a Cab
Hey guys I was reading a recent article on GQ.com about shoe shines. The writer mentioned that every 4th or 5th shine he would use black shoe polish on his cordovan shoes to make them more of an eggplant. He raved about how great they would look. Anybody have experience doing this?? Also I am new to self shining my shoes and could use a few tips. After applying the polish do you brush immediately?? And when do you add the touch of water or a good ole spit shine?

Isshinryu101

One Too Many
Hey guys I was reading a recent article on GQ.com about shoe shines. The writer mentioned that every 4th or 5th shine he would use black shoe polish on his cordovan shoes to make them more of an eggplant. He raved about how great they would look. Anybody have experience doing this?? Also I am new to self shining my shoes and could use a few tips. After applying the polish do you brush immediately?? And when do you add the touch of water or a good ole spit shine?

just be sure they are NOT shell cordovan, but calf's leather. Will make a nice patina... but "make an eggplant color"? Probably wouldn't want that anyway.

kiwilrdg

A-List Customer
I have my concern over wax being thicker in the seams. Wax buildup in the seams is part of the patina but I don't think it should be black.

Stanley Doble

Call Me a Cab
It will darken the shoes. If you use black all the time eventually the shoes will be nearly black.

I like to wipe off dust with a damp rag, rub the polish on, let them dry for 10 minutes then wipe with a dry rag, finally polish with a shoe brush.

If you don't let the polish dry it will be greasy and smeary. You need to rub on a good coat and let it dry.