Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Can anybody help me, please? With Panama hat

jimmyfed

New in Town
Hi:

I'm new to the world of fine panama hats. Please, help!

I'm interested in the folowing

Can anybody help me, please?

jimmyfed

New in Town
Do you guys think this is a good hat? He's been selling them on eBay for a long time and he's got a great feedback.

Dave McCone

New in Town
I would view this auction with a bit of skepticism.

I, too check out the ebay panamas from time to time. This specific auction raises a few red flags with me:

* The seller, Incabox, typically offers hats of lesser quality
* Panama hats are out of season right now, and at best will get maybe 15 bids over the course of an auction. This specific auction has, as of this writing 57 bids - and no way to check if the bids are coming from the same bidder or different bidders. The auction is "Private".
*Bids are in the high $200 range right now with a Buy-it-now price in the high $300 range - yet the item still hasn't reached its reserve price.
* There is no real description of some of the things that you look for in a high quality panama - such as weave count, or quality of weave - and no decent close-up of the hat to aid you in making this sort of judgement.

I haven't dealt with Incabox - and for all I know, this may be an entirely legit seller offering a quality item. But, if it was my money I would approach this one with some skepticism.

If you are interested in getting a quality panama, I would suggest taking a look at some of the informational stuff on some of the online vendors websites such as:

www.brentblack.com
www.panamahatsdirect.com
www.panamahat.biz
www.optimohats.com