Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Celestial Navigation

happyfilmluvguy

Call Me a Cab
I was discussing with a friend about compasses, North, South, East, and West. One technique in navigation, that I believe is used much more than believed, is by the stars. I've never done it before, and my idea of navigation is not exactly ethical, but I was wondering, how do you navigate by the stars?

Nigel Fisher

New in Town
Well, the North Star is always in the north.

You memorize the locations of other constellations, and track from there. For example, if [X] is normally east of the North Star, in [X] position, and it moved you can extrapolate where you are.

Staredge

One of the Regulars
Well, if you're talking about nautical navigation: celestial navigation uses the position of the sun and stars to basically triangulate where you are. By using the altitude of a given star and what time you make your observation, you can then determine where you are on a line. Turn a different direction and make the same observation on a different star, and that gives you another line. Where those two lines intersect is your position. (using a third star gives you a better reading) It involves sextants, calculators, and a big book of reduction tables. As much as I'd love to learn, I haven't yet.

Try http://www.celestialnavigation.net/ for more info and a MUCH better explanation.

Will

Feraud

Bartender
happyfilmluvguy said:
I was discussing with a friend about compasses, North, South, East, and West. One technique in navigation, that I believe is used much more than believed, is by the stars. I've never done it before, and my idea of navigation is not exactly ethical, but I was wondering, how do you navigate by the stars?
I would think most sailors today are not navigating by the stars when GPS devices are available.