Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Changing one's look.

The Shirt

Practically Family
I too went thru the black thing, then the t-shirt thing, but always with an appreciation for a great 50's dress from the local thrift store. I think it was all those years of limited college funds. Hair was dyed every color under the sun but mainly black for years. At one point in my workplace career (I'm a designer) I was told that I should watch my look when presenting to clients. I always thought it was a selling point (the quircky weird girl "looks" creative). But it made me take a long hard look at myself. I've tried to polish up my look a bit more. There isn't a week that goes by that I don't wear something with a previous life.

I think the updating with a few key pieces in colors that you like will get the ball rolling. I backed off my black hair and went for a chocolate brown to soften up a bit (still feels as edgey as I like). Good luck!

dashiell

One of the Regulars
Paisley said:
Wear a scarf in your hair and red lipstick a la Rosie the Riveter.

Where are my brownies? ;)

I shall bake them immediately! Though, i never did say I'd *give* them to you.... If you'd like, I'll send you a gift certificate for real brownies, as well!

I don't suppose anyone manufactures makeup for people who ... shall we say "glow like floodlights"? I've never worn makeup for that reason. Still, looking to manufactory workers is a good idea!

Eleanor Marie

One of the Regulars
The 'Goth' Thing

Yes, I think a few of us go thru the 'Goth' phase - mine lasted 20 years!!!!!
I probably still would be all of the time now but job does not permit (I work as a community nurse for Elderly people) so I had to find another way...:D I prefer how I look now than I have ever done.