Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Cheap hat cleaning and sweatbands.

cptjeff

Practically Family
Being a college student, I don't have a whole lot of money to spend on hats. I recently found a hat at a thrift store, and while I succeeded in reblocking it (the thing was crushed), it needs to be cleaned, needs a new sweat, and could stand a new liner and ribbon, but those would be optional.

Is there a place where I can get those without running up too much of a bill? For the cleaning is there a chance I could have a local dry cleaner do it?

Any help is appreciated.

Spats McGee

One Too Many
I just got a hat back from Mike Moore at buckaroo hatters. He did a sweat replacement, stretch, clean & reblock on it. Very reasonable & I'm happy with the work. We also discussed the possibility of a new liner & ribbon, so I'm sure he can do those, too.

Spats McGee

One Too Many
Well, let me be clear. I realized after the last post that by "clean," someone might think I meant a naptha bath. No. He gave it a good brushing, took out the old sweat, took off the ribbon, stretched it, reblocked it, put in a new sweatband, and re-attached the ribbon. All total, $37.

rmrdaddy

One Too Many
Spats,
Thanks for the info. I know that quite a number of the fellas have made friendships with Mr. Moore, and his work looks wonderful, but his website gives no mention of refurbishment of hats that I could find.
I have a Champ custom quality hat that has a loose sweat and ribbon so stained that I won't wear it. I'd love to have it rejuvenated!
I've been meaning to ring him to discuss, and you've given me impetus to do so, Thanks!

rmrdaddy

One Too Many
Jeff,