Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Cleaning a hat band in place?

T Rick

Practically Family
I just picked up a nice looking Mallory Ten, looks to be in great shape except some staining on the otherwise beautiful vintage grosgrain copper/brown band. I'd be tempted to try spraying it down with distilled water, brushing it with a mild soap or perhaps baby shampoo, spray-rinse with more distilled water and let air dry at room temperature.

Obviously, I am a noob and don't have a clue, so I wanted to get input. Would the above damage/adversely affect the band? Is there a better way, a feasible way to clean the band without removing it? Should I simply send the hat out for a professional cleaning, or is there some (safe) method I might try at home to see if I can get results? (Pics are from the auction)

standard.jpg

standard.jpg

T Rick

Practically Family
Why don't you want to remove the band?
Fair question. I am working on the assumption (often not a good thing to do) that it is tacked/sewn in place. I'd rather not disturb anything original on the hat if possible. If it will simply slip off, then perhaps dry cleaning might be the best alternative? Or, maybe not...

fmw

One Too Many
Personally, I would remove the band and toss it, clean the hat and replace the ribbon with a new one.

T Rick

Practically Family
Personally, I would remove the band and toss it, clean the hat and replace the ribbon with a new one.
That may be the ultimate solution, but if the original band is salvageable, I see no reason to discard it. Wanting to explore those options before going to that extreme (modern grosgrain isn't up to par with vintage so I've heard, and since this is presumably original to the hat, seems only fitting to do my best to retain/restore it first).

Aureliano

I'll Lock Up