Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Comparison of Wax Cotton jackets

Fardad

Familiar Face
Can anyone offer opinions/comparisons on quality with respect to the Barbour jackets?

- Oxford Blue waxed cottons
- Westfield waxed cottons

I have only tried on the Barbour jackets and although nice, I find the price tag to be a tad ridiculous for what it is. But I do need a raincoat here in Massachusetts so I am willing to make to an investment.

I just would like to know if anyone can attest to the quality of the other 2 mentioned (or perhaps introduce some more brands?) as they are considerably less in $. I know that the Oxford Blue's are made in England (I would like to avoid purchasing from China, etc.)

thanks!

rongoms

Familiar Face
I've no experience with those brands, but i haev a couple waxed-cloth items from the Edinbugh Woolen Mill.

The have no website, but they do have an outlet store in Gretna Green, in southern Scotland.

they are top-drawer stuff, and not too obscenly expensive. (They have vests too)

Just give them a ring, tell them waht you want and they'll toss it in the post.

The Edinburgh Woollen Mill
Units 8/9
Gretna Gateway Outlet Village
Glasgow Road
GRETNA
DG16 5GG

Phone Number : +011 44 1461 339084

rongoms

Familiar Face
Ah, Filson.

I can see their shops from my office window.

They do, indeed, make exceptional products, however i'm not a fan of their wax-cloth coats. they just fit....."funny" on me.

Maybe they're cut for tiny girly-sized men.lol

i've got a couple of their wax-cloth bags from years past, however, and they are top-notch!

If anyone wants a cataloge, (for non-internet reading) PM me and i'll get one in the post.

WH1

Practically Family