Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

First Large Investment Coat

AmericanIron

One of the Regulars
Hey guys,

I’m in the market to buy my first proper overcoat. I had a few questions for you guys here with more experience in this department as most of my jackets have been for motorcycles or for work (Ironworker by trade).

I’ve been looking to buy an overcoat that can fit the bill for casual day to day wear as well as semi formal events. I don’t really have many formal events that I attend with any regularity but I will often wear a sportcoat on the weekends and maybe a suit to church on occasion. Really nothing that ever gets close to black tie stuff but not jeans and a hoody either. The coat would be worn over a sport coat so that’s a big factor for me.
I tried a single breasted topcoat from Spier and mackay but found the fit too trim in the waist. And the shoulders too wide to size up. Beautifully thick 100% wool though which I loved so that’s still what I’m in the market for.

I came across private white VC in my search and wondered if anyone here has tried one of their coats. This was the first one I saw that caught my eye.

I love the raglan sleeve Balmacaan design (shoulders are great over tailoring) and it seemed like it would be pretty versatile but unfortunately my size is out of stock and they don’t make it anymore. The blue variant seems a little too unique to be my only coat though.

I found this one afterwards and aside from the price being more than I’ve ever spent on a piece of clothing I’m strongly considering it.

I was hoping you guys could shed some light on whether a coat like this would be versatile enough to be worn casually and also more formally. The double breasted design I like quite a lot as the Spier coat left a lot of your chest open to the elements.