Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

First post here

zipper

New in Town
I'm a newbie here and have long wanted an authentic, or fairly authentic but affordable A-2 jacket.

I am traveling to New York in the near future and plan to visit the Cockpit store in the city, in hopes of finding and buying a nice A-2 that fits me right.

Question: Can anyone tell me whether Cockpit jackets are worth the money. I understand there are better A-2 jackets out there, but I just like the idea of trying on something before I invest several hundred dollars.

Thanks!

Welcome! Authentic? Spend the same money on a used (as close to) authentic jacket as you can afford. The Cockpit makes nice jackets - quality. So does Schott. But for the same money, you could get a used Aero, a new G&B, US Authentic, or another used brand like ELC (and Good Wear, for more money)The Cockpit jackets are not cheap, and they are nice, but they're more of a civilian jacket as opposed to the ones I named above. Check out the Classifieds here and eBay as well as Aero's used jacket page.What size are you? Some sizes are much easier to find. Aero's used, sale, vintage page.

Last edited:

zipper

New in Town
Welcome! Authentic? Spend the same money on a used (as close to) authentic jacket as you can afford. The Cockpit makes nice jackets - quality. So does Schott. But for the same money, you could get a used Aero, a new G&B, US Authentic, or another used brand like ELC (and Good Wear, for more money)The Cockpit jackets are not cheap, and they are nice, but they're more of a civilian jacket as opposed to the ones I named above. Check out the Classifieds here and eBay as well as Aero's used jacket page.What size are you? Some sizes are much easier to find. Aero's used, sale, vintage page.