Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Help with Aeroleather D-1 jacket.

Bunce

New in Town
Hi There, my name is Bunce and I live in Australia. I am relatively new to leather jackets as I only have one. I have done my own beeswax treatment on a pointer brand duck jacket. I have a neat collection of Japanese selvage denim including a denim jacket from Samurai.

Today I am reaching out to get a full understanding of how to order a jacket online from Aeroleather. I wish to purchase a D-1 ( https://www.aeroleatherclothing.com/usaaf/usaaf-type-d-1/military018 ) and was wondering about a few things in terms of what’s possible for customisation.

Some of the answers to these questions may leave other questions redundant, and I understand that answering one may have a cascade affect on the others, but I’d like the be thorough.

Firstly this is a shearling jacket. So I was wondering about leather choices and does that limit my choice. I’d really like the the outer leather to be vegetable tan leather and allow it to darken with careful application of neatsfoot oil and sun. Is it possible for them to make the outer with vegetable tan leather?

Second to the first question, is the shearling leather part of the wool? Or is it possible to have this type of jacket made with horse hide?

If the leather options are limited to the black and redskin options, how does the redskin age? I am really hoping for a dark brown jacket with interesting honeycomb highlights.

In the customisation page there are a few options for trim, and while I can make out it has something to do with the stitching I really don’t know what I’m looking at. I’ll include a photo. Can someone let me know what to make of this?