Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Help with nailing an era

Nora

New in Town
Hi there. I'm a bit new here, I've lurked around on and off for a while, but I might have missed a similar thread anyway. I apologize if it is so.

Now, the thing is, I've fallen in love with the 40's pin up look. I've been trying for a while now to get it right, and I've probably read everything there is to know about t out there.
I'm quite new to makeup, but I've been practising a bit, trying to get the 40's look, for parties and such, and maybe also everyday.

So I pick out the red lipstick... And no matter what I do I end up with this annoyingly timeless look. Gah! Even with a full on vintagey-outfit and pin curls... Nope. Just that timelessly elegant look. I want to look stereotypically 40's, dammit!
It doesn't help that a lot of my friends can just slap on red lippy and instantly get that look...

What's the problem? Is my face that weird? I personally like it quite a bit, it's rather oval, but that shouldn't matter, should it? Is it the fact that my lips would work perfectly with the flapper-girl look?
I shall add a picture, feel free to pick me apart. Point out any mistake I made and how to make it more period correct. Hopefully that will help me get the look I want.

http://bildr.no/image/ZTlGWlcz.jpeg
http://bildr.no/image/WFNCUzRX.jpeg

There you go. Please excuse the zit.

Last edited:

makeupmaven

New in Town
Hello Nora,