Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

If you only had one old rifle, which?

Doug C

Practically Family
So I am strongly considering getting myself a rifle and I've never owned a gun before so I'm new to the "sport". It's been years since I even shot a gun. I don't plan on doing any Deer hunting I'm not a hunter (yet atleast) but not really apposed to it eventually. Would probably use it for target shooting, etc. I'd like to get something that's "classic", don't want to walk into the local sporting goods store and guess at which one to get - they all tend to look alike. I was thinking of a M1 Garand only because it was the WWII rifle the US troops used, though it may be more than I need. Anyone have suggestions or just advice in general for a complete newb?

Doug C

Natty Bumpo

New in Town
Get your C & R license from the fed.gov at $30.00 for 3 years. Then go to http://www.odcmp.com/Services/Rifles/sales.htm and order an M1 or a 1903 or an M1 carbine.

All are genuine historical artifacts, some are war-babies. By purchasing here, you will help preserve our history and promote civilian ( especially youth ) marksmanship.

The C & R is easy to obtain and allows purchase at dealer cost with to-your -door delivery of a world of firearms.

BuddyJ

One of the Regulars
full.jpg

I highly recommend a Swiss K-31. It's a straight pull rifle with an amazing action. It's also highly accurate, even over iron sights. At 100 yds, I was shooting better groups over open sights than the guy next to me with the Garand using a bench rest and scope.

For safety, the bolt is easily removed from the gun, rendering it completely inoperable, if you're concerned about that sort of thing.