Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

(Interesting) Observation: Women wearing collar pins with suit and tie

Hynes

New in Town
Hi everyone! It's my first time posting things here and I wanna share one of my (interesting) observations. I'm a suit and suit-style uniform lover and I collect quite a bunch of photos where women of different ages wear suit and tie or different types of uniforms. I find one thing very interesting that some ladies tended to wear a collar pin when they're wearing suit and tie, especially during 1910s to 1960s. After 1960s the trend of wearing collar pins faded gradually until recently it's kinda coming back. I guess the main reason for wearing a collar pin is because at that period shirt collars (not including those detachable ones) were not as stiff as they appear today so that wearing a collar pin would help pull the collar together for a neat look. It could be also because of people wanna be looking strict and conservative so they put some effort including wearing a collar pin to make the collar tight and secure. I really appreciate the look that a tie is lifted and secured by a collar pin underneath, which makes the tie jut out with a beautiful shape of an arc. Here I post some of my favorite photos of women wearing collar pins with suit and tie. It would be very welcome if anyone is also interested in this topic and shares more photos!

Agnes Ayres (1898-1940)
CollarBars_6.jpg

Three unidentified ladies from New Zealand (circa 1920s).
sw1923-1930_06439.jpg

Unidentified WWI female soldier. The collar seems to be very tight.
Uniform_10.jpg