Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Is vintage felt still susceptible to shrinkage..

djgo-cat-go

Practically Family
..I asked myself after putting on a 50+ years old, unlined fur-felt hat on my towel-wet hair for three days in a row... My hair has to dry in some way and It's thick hair, so covered under a hat, it takes some time.. It's almost inevitable that the wetness will be partly absorbed by the felt of the hat..

Anyone experienced shrinkage 'from within'?

djgo-cat-go

Practically Family
Or is the assumption that all fur-felts are vulnerable to water wrong..? I'm new to this.. only remember shrinking my felt scout-hat when I was 12, and my mother shrinking my felt Superman-emblem that was on my favourite suit when I was 9... wasn't fur-felt in both cases though.. :-(

Bantam Man

One of the Regulars
Shrink

A quality felt hat will not shrink from the moisture coming of your just washed hair.
In the Akubra Federation debates I read that the lower quality Fed's shrink after heavy rain. And if you buy them just a little bit large, you can make them fit this way :)
But the better quality Fed's do not shrink -- as I can testify myself, using a Fed DLX as my everyday hat.

I'd be more concerned with the leather sweatband shrinking & drawing the felt with it. Leather will shrink as it dries. You sweat in a vintage sweatband & let it dry off your head, you will have a tighter fitting hat. A hat stretcher is mainly to adjust the size of the sweatband taking the felt with it. New felt will shrink some as it ages & gets more compact.

I think that heat was the source of most shrinkage. How it make the felt tighter i don't know but the leather sweat band maybe more susceptable to shrinking.