Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Librarians?

TheLibrarian

New in Town
I notice there seem to be an awful lot of folks around here who work in libraries, or around libraries, or have something to do with libraries, and it got me wondering...

How many of us are there in the Lounge?

I'm the director of a public library, by the way. Although I used to be a preservation archivist until something went horribly wrong.

Argee

One of the Regulars
Well, I have a Masters in Information Science. So I'm either a Librarian or Archivist depending on the project I'm working on.

CharlieB

A-List Customer
Even though I am a computer systems manager, I have a degree in Applied History, and volunteer at county historical society in the library and archives. We help patrons with research (usually genealogical or school projects on local history) and will do research on request.

Tomasso

Incurably Addicted
Librarians are hot. "that's right....I said it!"
Librarian.jpg

slc

Familiar Face
I'm an engineer at work, but at home I maintain a 3200-volume library. We are a home-school family that loves to read. Most of our collection are classic works of fiction, vintage books from 1900-1960s, reprints of titles from 18th-19th centuries, biographies, and history books. I don't think I'll ever buy a Kindle: there's nothing like holding a real paper volume in your hands.

Hercule

Practically Family