Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Modern custom vs Vintage

univibe88

One Too Many
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie.

"Hi newbie!"

Ok, now that we have that out of the way. I've done enough reading around here to gather that modern "off the rack" hats from the likes of Stetson and Borsalino are not considered nearly as good as their vintage counterparts.

It seems that hats made in the 40s and 50s have a high level of quality that is unmatched by today's hats. But how do the hats coming from the custom-makers like Art Fawcett, Optimo, etc compare to hats from the "Golden Era?"

Are custom makers of today limited by their access to quality materials? Do they just not make felt like they used to? Or are the makers of today able to make a comparable product?

From a quality point of view (price notwithstanding) can one buy a modern custom hat that equals a vintage hat?

Thanks

indycop

I'll Lock Up
Hi univibe88 I think I noticed you are on Cigarweekly also!

I can't help much, I have one of Art's hats and I see my wife's vintage hats Stetson included and from what I see I am not missing anything. Art's are just as good even better to me. Serious quality felt and workmanship.;)

surely

A-List Customer
Hiya Karl. I've never played with a modern custom but I bet that those who have will say probably that they are of better quality than vintage. If that's true you are in for a treat for the vintage hats I have are a wonder to touch and wear.

Delthayre

One of the Regulars
Nearly as it once was

This has wondered me too. My recently acquired Vintage Silhouettes hat is certainly far finer than the Biltimore produced Village Hat Shop Cagney that I have been wearing since 2004, but I've never had the opportunity to investigate a vintage one.