Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

My Vintage Radio Collection

RetroToday

A-List Customer
Hi there,

Former "lurker" and new guy to join the forum here. Hello everybody.

Thought you might enjoy seeing pictures of my vintage radio collection, so here is a link to my online gallery:

http://ca.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/jeremyhopkin@rogers.com/album?.dir=9533&.src=ph&store=&prodid=&.done=http%3a//ca.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph//my_photos

I've been collecting antique and vintage items for over 15 years now, but more recently have been collecting radios. Got many of them at garage sales and some given to me over the years. There's just something more interesting (for me) about antiques that actually can "do" something. I'm also now learning (slowly) how to fix these things!

I'd love to eventually own a house from the victorian era, or deco era, all decked out in 99% pre-WWII items.
Radios have just "stuck" to me for the moment as the main interest. I now have over 23 of them. Sheesh! The collection grows without me knowing sometimes.

I understand there is a "radio" forum here, but I thought it more appropriate in the display case. Hopefully the moderators agree.

Warmest Regards,

KilroyCD

One Too Many
mr12_003.jpg

Here's one of the radios in my collection, a 1941 Zenith. This one doesn't work at this time, but I plan to get it working again. When I bought this (at an auction), I discovered the original bill of sale tucked away inside. The selling price was $89.95, and it was put on layaway on August 20, 1941, paid off and picked up on November 20, 1941. One must wonder if the owner(s) heard FDR's "Day of Infamy" speech on this new radio.
-Chris

Starius

Practically Family
Fantastic collection, RT! I especially like the 1934 Philco.

Oh, and welcome to the lounge!