Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Names, models and dating? - Disney & Stevie L Stetson !

stephena310

One of the Regulars
As I have said, I am very new to to "hats", however, when I get interested in something, I tend to want to research and get to know everything about it......
1. I am wondering if there are lists of the various models made by each company and the dates and amounts of their production? I would love to know the names of the models of hats that Disney or Stephen L. Stetson made and when or between what years they made them?

2. In the case of Disney, I have read on this forum that the company was owned, then sold to/or obsorbed by Hat Corp and then by Frank Lee - and was wondering if anyone has gone to these companies for their help in researching this company and their hats.......

Having collected guitars for a hobby over my lifetime, I have found that the manufacturers often have quite a bit of "raw data" and simply lack the time and inclination to put the facts and data together in order to make reasonable conclusions regarding "dating" their products.......Does anyone any any input on this???/

facade

A-List Customer
The companies that made the hats we collect here all went out of business long ago. The surviving names have been subject to multiple mergers and sales and are kept alive solely for their potential name recognition value. I doubt the current owner (Hatco) of the trademarks has any greater knowledge of the companies and men whose names are applied to the hats then we here of the lounge. The only information I have ever seen has come from the research and purchases of lounge members. Since these companies all failed before the computer era, short of a miraculous find, there's no way to get complete data of the kind you are requesting.

moehawk

I'll Lock Up