Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

New to Fedora, seeking 30s hair help

Barbara

One of the Regulars
Hello ladies

I'm new to the Fedora lounge, though I know a couple of names out there. Here's the thing, I have fine, mostly straight hair, just above my shoulders and it won't hold curl without overnight sleep in rollers, setting lotion. I mostly wear 30s, or as close to it as I can get, so I try to get a hairstyle that goes with the period (although I do not do well with Marcel waves).

I can't roll my hair everyday, as I have a toddler and start work at 5 am. I'm looking for advice on what kind of haircut would look best for the period. Should I go for a few layers? My hairdresser is just not getting it. On days I cannot do much with my hair, I just need a good cut that's not too modern looking.

Anyone have ideas! Thank you...Barbara

jitterbugdoll

Call Me a Cab
Welcome, Barbara!

A good layered haircut is the key to everything--it will help your hair hold the proper curl and will give it more shape and body. Shorter cuts will work to your advantage as well--they will be perfectly period and help your hair retain the curl.

And cold sets using pin curls, rag curlers, or sponge rollers are definitely the way to go. Spray your hair in the morning with a good spray, and if the curls hold up fairly well, sleep with your hair wrapped in an invisible net.

I don't know if you have had a chance to search the forums yet, but there are some great threads on hair styling, with plenty of tips and tricks to be had :)

Barbara

One of the Regulars
Thanks

Hi there,