Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Newbie introduction and sharing

Yohanes

One of the Regulars
Hello loungers,

I'm newbie here. Actually I've been reading this forum frequently but couldn't register due to mail problem that I've just resolved.

I'm very fascinated to read about how you all here love to wear hats, and indeed, I want to be a hat wearer too. And surely I'm gonna need plenty of your advice... So far I have a Stetson Andes and a Litefelt crushable fedora (you may laugh at me, but I'm a starter here, with limited budget too :) ) I want to wear hat as my fashion statement (I'm sick of today's fashion, just don't get it why many young boys these days dress like sissies), as well as protecting my skull - yes, I'm 32, and I'm balding. Not yet imminent but the direction is clear. And when everything's gettin out of control, I'll follow Yul Brynner and Telly Savalas. And when I become "skinhead" I definitely need hats.... :)

It's hard to find a fedora or wide brimmed hat in my country, Indonesia. This is not a hat country. These days the only hats I can find here are baseball caps, army cadet cap, beanie/bucket hat, skull cap, and very few newsboy/Ivy which is not made in high quality material, I'm afraid. Straw hats can be found too in certain extent but I don't think they are as good as your Panama or even other straw hats (Milan, Toyo, Shantung, etc) Others would be "religious" type of hats, particularly worn by Moslems. Hat with brim, I'm afraid here, doesn't represent part of "high class" or "elegant" clothing. It is mostly worn by farmers or street vendor, but of course, definitely not the stylish fedora that you have...