Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Nooby nooby new

Bigger Don

Practically Family
(with thanks to Frank Sinatra for the inspiration)

Have been lurking here for a couple of weeks. Seems like a good group so I thought I would intro myself.

As my nic says, I'm Don, and bigger than most. Heck, I tell people I'm almost twice the man I was when I graduated HS.

Had been thinking about wearing hats for a while because (a) ball caps are good for kids and ball games (b) watch caps are great for winter (c) at 6'5 340 I blend too much into the crowd.

The drawback was a guy I know at my former employer's wears a hat badly. Just didn't want to go there! OTOH, a couple of other guys wore hats that always looked good on them. Lesson: It's more a matter of the person under the hat than the hat on the person.

So, this summer I've taken the first steps to being a Hat Guy.

Step One. Stopped in at Batsakes and tried on a Panama. Nice hat, got compliments, but I wasn't ready for it.

Step Two. Acquired a "training hat" to see if I wanted to take the move. Nothing to write home about: crushable, cotton, somewhere between a fedora and a bucket. (Duluth Trading "FDR"). No big investment in case I wanted to step back to bareheadedness.

Step Three. Wear it! A hat sets a man apart in this modern age. Answer the question: Am I socially comfortable in it?

Found out several things. People compliment me and my cheap hat. I prefer a hat over sunglasses. I now seldom go outside without a hat (I've since been given another inexpensive hat). Our Golden Retriever, Maggie, knows I'm heading outside when I put on a hat.