Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

old A2 bit the dust. purchased a bomber jacket, at least i think it is. any ideas

loosebolts

Familiar Face
Ok so i found this jacket on Ebay. (probably first mistake.) i am relatively new to the leather jacket game but i have my a2 is nearly falling off me. so it was time for a replacement. so shopped on ebay and bought a brown jacket. the seller said it WWII era German motorcycle/bomber jacket. so i figured id roll the dice and get it. the shipping was $56 and the jacket itself was $159.00
i like the European style old motorcycle jackets, the bomber jacket are my flavor as well so no matter what ill like it. the only thing i am not sure of is if this is actually what he said it was. he had some picture of some bomber (He-111 to be specific.) crew wearing something like this but their were fur lined and obvious thicker. Another photograph was a german motorcycle troop with something similar but i cant see if is has the breast zipper pocket.
so any one know exactly what this is or what era it would be from.the plastic looking buckle has me curious. just trying to get an idea. i dont want to knock it around if its something really special.

posted picture on flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/55967186@N06/

Fastuni

Call Me a Cab
Nothing military about it... sellers try to add a "Luftwaffe" or other military angle to each and everything as a selling point.
It is a very nice ca. 1930's to 1950's civilian jacket... I cannot make out the writing on the label (nor do I recognize the logo), but it may well be German/European. The condition is pretty good from what I see and the price is absolutely ok for such a jacket. The "plastic" of the buckle is period correct and probably bakelite. Congratulations.

loosebolts

Familiar Face