Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Original L.W. Foster 7823(AER)

Sobrien

New in Town
Hello, am a newbie here. I come by my love of USN leather jackets by birth. My dad was a USN fighter and ASW pilot after WW2. He continued wearing his G-1 until he put on some weight. I wore it back in junior high but quickly out grew it. With his passing last year I received most of his aviation related belongings, including his log books and his G-1. I thought I might share some pics. It is his second jacket. The first he received in 1945 while in flight training. He had it until sometime in the mid 50's when it was stolen and he was issued the Foster.

I have a few questions.
Anyway to find out what year it was made?
And, is there any one who could make copies of the squadron patches?

Sean

Here's a picture of him when he qualified for his wings of gold in August,1946.

and here's a picture of him in 1952 while Exec of VS-22 with the Philip Morris midget: I've always wondered who the maker was. Any guesses?

So the Foster was issued after that. It has USA stamped on the back of the color, and the left pocket is noticeably bigger than the right. Before I new better, about 20 years ago I had a new zipper and the knits replaced so my dad could wear it to his ANA meetings. It is here modeled by my son, it no longer fits me.

VS-22

VF-6B/ VF-62

Fanch

I'll Lock Up
I had a G-1 issued to me while I was in the US Navy that was also stolen a few months after I was separated from active duty service. Great pics of your son who wears the G-1 well! One of the Lounge members a2jacketpatches might be able to help you with copies of the squadron patches. He is more active on the VLJ forum than this one. Great story and thanks for sharing.

Dumpster Diver

Practically Family