Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Question[s] about a Stetson[s]

GWD

One Too Many
Hi all, this is my first post so forgive my ignorance.

I'm a fedora newbie and would like to know what is the significance of the Numbers of Stetson Hat ie, a Stetson Twenty or Twenty Five? Thanks,

Fredthecat

One of the Regulars
Welcome GWD,
Sit on down and enjoy the lounge.
No hat questions should go unasked or unanswered. These guys are very friendly, knowledgeable and willing to help.

The Fifteen, Twenty, etc seems to be tied to the cost of the hat in dollars at the time.

Here’s another simple question for them:
What’s do the number of Xs represent, as in what’s the difference between XXX and XXXX? Number of beavers used, finest/quality of felt?

Fredthecat

Dinerman

Super Moderator
Bartender
The x's represent the quality of the felt, as far as both content and finish go. A finer finished felt of the same content will get a higher X rating. Or at least that's the way it works in theory. As the rating system varies by manufacturer and time, it doesn't really mean much, that is, a vintage 3x stetson is much higher quality than a modern 5x, and a modern 10x stetson is absolute junk when compared to a vintage 7x.

A vintage 2x portis is very nice fur felt, while a modern 2x resistol is pure coarse wool.

To the question about numbers, the previous answer is correct. A stetson twenty cost $20 when new, and a stetson twenty five cost $25.

GWD

One Too Many
Thanks for your quick answers, how high did Stetson go "in the day" with the Fifteen, Twenty, Twenty Five pricing?

J.T.Marcus

Call Me a Cab