Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Question for Chicago-ites

Sloan1874

I'll Lock Up
I'm heading to your good city next month. Can anyone recommend the best - ie cheapest - outlets for Red Wing boots? :D

Sloan1874

I'll Lock Up
@BK No, this is my first time to Chicago. I'd certainly be interested in doing some vintage shopping while I'm there - I've got five days and I'll be based at the Radisson Blu, which I'm told is pretty central, so plenty of time to burn.

@Boyo: I'm working on that just now. I tried to explain to the PRs who are organising the trip the significance of Horween, and I think the only thing they took away from it was 'He's into leather...' :eeek::D

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Chicago will never be the same!

AUGUST 14, 2013

Night And Day Vintage, after 15 years in the heart of Antique Row as Chicago’s premier retailer of 20th Century fashion and furnishings Is CLOSED.
http://www.nightanddayvintage.com/

I guess antique row's still there though. Far out north on the brown line, I think.

Sloan1874

I'll Lock Up
Darn, I'd read about that as well - I'm carrying my Fromer's guide around with me just pencilling in stuff to do - but I'm sure we'll get out to its further reaches. Have you been there in late November, BK? How cold does it get?

Schtum

New in Town
Ask Plumbline - I believe he knows Chicago well and since he is by his own admission "very tight", I'm sure he'll point you in the direction of good value for money....
augie.gif

winterland1

Practically Family
I don't know specifically any place to get Red Wings there. Take a look at their website and you can search for stores that carry the Heritage line.