Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Question on vintage desk fan maintenance

ScionPI2005

Call Me a Cab
Hi all,
I tried doing a search, but couldn't come up with anything specific for my question, so hopefully this is the place to post this.

I have a mid 1940's vintage Emerson desk fan which I have been using pretty heavily for the past several months. I recently started wondering if I should oil it at some point; it is an oscillating fan, so the mechanism probably needs lubrication. Can anyone tell me if the tiny hole at the top of the motor housing is designed as the place to add oil to lubricate the motor? If this is the case, does anyone know if any specific type of oil is preferred? If the fan is not supposed to be oiled through this hole, are there any other recommendations on how to oil it?

Thanks!

The Wingnut

One Too Many
Photographs would help.

I've rebuilt a desk fan, I found that automotive grease meant for bearings(specifically disc brake cars, the grease is meant to withstand high heat applications) works best on the motor's shaft. Oil has a tendency to run out/off of the friction surfaces, and go places it shouldn't.. If it runs hot(housing / shaft /motor gets hot), it's probably a good idea to pull the fan apart, clean the commutator and clean out any accumulated dust.

Vintage Betty

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I'm no expert, but I also wouldn't assume that the hole in the top of the fan is meant for oil; many times it was a fabrication of the steel or else I've also heard that it helps to prevent overheating of the internal unit.