Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Starter jacket - HD Sportster from @Monitor

Will Zach

I'll Lock Up
Hi guys - noob here again. I received the HD Sportster from Monitor (thanks) and it is awesome. It is cool to wear something that is 50 years old and has so much character. This my first buy of a vintage article so old - I have a 20-year old Dolce and Gabbana kangaroo jacket - don't laugh, it is a pretty cool jacket with a cafe racer cut and a mandarin collar. But this is badass... as you know there is a fine line with sight-unseen purchases, even when you know your measurements cold. The jacket could be too tight - I could not pull off a too-tight jacket at my age... ;). Or it could be slightly too generous, which might be the case here. I usually wear 18" in shoulders; this is 19". But what the hell, I will layer up and wear it when it is cooler. The hide is thick and slightly stiff - this jacket was meant for biking, after all. I don't ride, except a bicycle...:). On the crappy pics below I am wearing a t-shirt underneath it, but a sweater or light hoodie will fit no problem. I love the simple cut of the jacket and lack of pockets. I always liked jackets (my wife thinks I am nuts), and I am glad there are more folks like me!!! Please critique (are sleeves too long?) - I need fit tips because I am already eyeing Aero BR in Blackened Brown Vicenza... :O. Full blown disease...lol
edit.jpg
edit2.jpg
edit3.jpg

The fit is great. Sleeves probably a tad long, especially if you don’t ride. Just a tad. But everything else looks great. Imo, where the sleeves land is personal preference based on look, comfort and purpose. All said, Monitor hooked you up. Great jacket that looks great on you.

navetsea

I'll Lock Up