Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Stetson Bashing at Club Obi-Wan - What gives?

Donato

One of the Regulars
I was browsing through the Club Obi-Wan forum and found a thread about the quality of Stetson hats. While a few responses do not make a consensus, I was disappointed by the negative views expressed about Stetson. What do lounge members think? I am new to this world but Stetson is a venerable name in hat manufacturing and I just ordered a Sutley. How do they compare to Akubra?

http://www.indygear.com/cow/viewtopic.php?t=25375&highlight=stetson+sutley

thunderw21

I'll Lock Up
Donato said:
I was browsing through the Club Obi-Wan forum and found a thread about the quality of Stetson hats. While a few responses do not make a consensus, I was disappointed by the negative views expressed about Stetson. What do lounge members think? I am new to this world but Stetson is a venerable name in hat manufacturing and I just ordered a Sutley. How do they compare to Akubra?

http://www.indygear.com/cow/viewtopic.php?t=25375&highlight=stetson+sutley

Unfortunately Stetson today is not as high quality as it was in the past.

I'm unable to read the thread and see what was said, but Stetson hats nowadays are not great. I'd much rather have a vintage Stetson than a modern Stetson. Nothing against Stetson; their quality just isn't as good.

That said, they are decent hats. Not great, but decent. I would call them average compared to other off the shelf hat makers.

Akubra hats are better quality when it comes to felt and construction.

carebear

My Mail is Forwarded Here
It's like any other classic label.

When it comes to new stuff, you have to look and see if they are just coasting on the name due to rising costs or just laziness and undiscriminating buyers.