Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

The Search for the One [Many] True Hat[s]

Cashmere

New in Town
While I totally get the fascination and appeal of collecting, I'm a one-hat kinda guy. I like having one hat I wear to hell and back, something that starts to feel like a part of myself.

I have this inexpensive Eddie Bauer lite-felt thin-band crushable fedora I've been wearing for close to 20 years. I don't think they've made it for quite a while... it's actually a quite good looking hat, and it's served me well. But it's getting pretty faded (it's gone from deep brown to a light khaki/olive), with a few moth bites, and I think I'm ready to replace it with something that has a bit more gravitas.

I don't want something I have to baby. It needs to look nice (suitable for wearing to work, restaraunts, etc.), but most of the time I wear my hat hiking, fishing, working outside, and such.

So, I'm looking for suggestions.

I like the Akubra Federation Deluxe IV... I'm sure it would be plenty rugged. Kinda wish it weren't soooo Indy.

I really like the shape and look of the Stetson Benchley and Chatham.

I'd like a bound brim.

Beaver would be nice, of course.

Stetson, Akubra... those are some pretty obvious brands. What are some others I should be scouting out? What about custom? The Benchley is pretty much at the absolute top end of my price range, which I'm sure rules out a lot of custom makers.

And, I seem to be right square between a 7 3/4 and 7 1/2... so, if a recommended brand tends to run small or large, that would be helpful to know.

Any input welcome. :)

- Brad

Mulceber

Practically Family