Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Vinage Ties

Pantherman

New in Town
How does one tell if a tie is truly vintage? I was looking at a supposed 40's tie at smokydiva's that has no tags, is there a website to help me identify vintage (40's) ties?

Thanks,

Pantherman

scotrace

Head Bartender
Staff member
I'm no expert, but in my own experience (I'm building a collection):

Width varies. Generally speaking 3&3/4" - 4&1/4" or more wide.
Vintage ties have no "keeper" at the back of the wide part.
They have no interfacing to add thickness or body.
They are often unmarked.
Vintage ties are generally much shorter than modern ties.

Silk, rayon and other fabrics are found.

Pantherman

New in Town
Thanks Scotrace, I forgot to mention that the one that I was looking at a narrow tie that supposedly came from the 40's, here's the desc if it helps any.

40s Gentleman Elegant Narrow Woven Tie Browns

Description

Here's a beautiful woven acetate/rayon 40s tie with geometric patterns in browns, black and tan. Commonly called cravats, I love the look of these narrow ties. This one is a bit wider than some but still only about 2-1/2" wide at the widest point. No tags on this, but its condition is excellent and clean.

Scroll down to see more info on this item below!

Facts

YEAR:....1940s

MAIN COLOR(S)...BROWNS, BLACK, TAN

DESIGNER:...NOT MARKED

MATERIAL:...65% ACETATE, 35% RAYON

CONDITION:...In EXCELLENT condition

Dimensions

OVERALL LENGTH:...54"

WIDTH:...2-1/2" (At widest part of tie)

thanks

Pantherman

the length test is a good one.