Watch Chains

Discussion in 'General Attire & Accoutrements' started by Dinerman, Mar 30, 2008.

1. Dinerman

Dinerman Super Moderator Bartender

I got this in an antique store up in Maine while on spring break.
    What do all of you out there keep your watch on?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. thunderw21

thunderw21 I'll Lock Up

Cool, Dinerman!

I just bought one this week. Don't have pics of it yet. It is like yours but with a key hanging from it. Wearing it tomorrow. :D

3. anon`

anon` One Too Many

Wow, impressive! I have a pocketwatch, but rarely wear it on account of not having a decent waistcoat for one, and again for not being able to find (or sometimes afford) a chain like that!

4. Fredthecat

Fredthecat One of the Regulars

Very nice!

Nice gold chain. Very classy. Would look nice with 3 piece or just vest.

I’ve been carrying a pocket watch (and fedoras) daily for 40+ years. Never owned a wristwatch (or cell phone with clock).

I carry my pocket watch on an 8" Sterling Silver watch chain I bought 30+ years ago in a pawn shop. It drapes perfectly from pants watch pocket to belt loop. Not too flashy or too vintage costumey, just dressed, like with a hat. The only trick is to buy pants with watch pocket. That “change” pocket on Levis 501s is for a watch!

I have a dozen or so 16 size Hamilton, Waltham and Illinois 21+ jewel Rail Road pocket watches in stainless steel, white gold filled and base metal cases. I change them out about like you do hats, but the same watch chain seems to fit them all nicely.

I love it when guys tell me about their Super Duper Atomic Watches that reset themselves EVERY morning. If they’re so accurate how come it has to reset?? Pocket watch just tells the time, to within 10 seconds, IF I remember to wind it.

Enjoy your watches and chains.
    Fredthecat

5. Warbaby

Warbaby One Too Many

Very classy double-ended chain! Now you need a gold cigar cutter for the other end of the chain in the other vest pocket...